William M. Heller Mentor of the Year Award

William M. Heller Mentor of the Year Award

The William M. Heller Mentor of the Year is a highly visible award. Mentors are an integral part of AFPE’s mission. The Mentor of the Year is given to the AFPE mentor who exemplifies the characteristics of valuing ongoing learning, a willingness to share expertise, exhibiting enthusiasm in their field, providing guidance with respect, and is nominated by their mentees and colleagues.

William M. Heller (Bill) is a dedicated AFPE Fellow, mentor, global visionary, Remington awardee, Harvey A.K Whitney lecturer and, former AFPE board member, and the former Executive Director of USP. Bill has dedicated his career to drug quality and safety. His outstanding skills as a mentor have impacted those who are fortunate enough to have worked with him throughout his career.

AFPE requests nominations for the William M. Heller Mentor of the Year Award in April, and the winner is announced at the annual AACP meeting. The Mentor of the Year received an etched glass commemorative sculpture and a $1,000 award. 



Past Mentors of the Year

2019: Kimberly Garza, Auburn University


Kimberly B. Garza, PharmD, MBA, PhD is an Associate Professor and Graduate Program Officer in the Department of Health Outcomes Research and Policy at Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy. Dr. Garza’s research involves the application of behavioral economic theory to study cardioprotective health behaviors, including medication adherence, diet, and physical activity. Specifically, she studies incentive systems that help individuals overcome present-biased preferences in order to engage in and maintain preventive health behaviors. Upon hearing of her selection as the 2019 Mentor of the Year, Dr. Garza wrote: “I left a career in clinical pharmacy practice to become a faculty member because of my strong passion for graduate education and student mentoring. The most rewarding part of my job is to see students succeed in their studies and later in their careers. Being there to guide students through the challenges of graduate school and helping them to thrive in our program is so fulfilling to me.                 

 To read more about Dr. Garza and her impact as a mentor, please click here and here. 

2018: Kathleen Giacomini, University of California, San Francisco

2017: Gordon Amidon, University of Michigan

2016: Francis Szoka, University of California, San Francisco

2015: Lauren Aleksunes, Rutgers University