About AFPE


The mission of the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education (AFPE) is to advance and support pharmaceutical sciences education at U.S. schools and colleges of pharmacy by:

AFPE offers funding to first-year graduate students, Pharm.D.students, and pre-doctoral candidates.

AFPE awards provide recognition and support to a diverse group of talented students and faculty as they pursue advanced pharmaceutical sciences education. These students and faculty learn state-of-the-science knowledge, skills, and techniques of great value to industry and academia as they prepare to participate effectively in achieving the business goals of pharmaceutical research and manufacturing and the academic goals of the pharmaceutical sciences education enterprise.

AFPE First Year Graduate School Fellowships encourage the best U.S. students to pursue careers in the pharmaceutical sciences by supporting exceptional first- year of graduate school students as they begin a Ph.D. degree course of study in the pharmaceutical sciences in preparation for careers in industry and academia.

AFPE Pre-Doctoral Fellowships in the Pharmaceutical Sciences support the most exceptional Ph.D. students during the advanced, research phase of their pharmaceutical sciences course of study and enable them to focus intensively on industry-oriented subjects such as: drug development, drug delivery, clinical trial design and management, pharmacoeconomics, and manufacturing quality control. In the course of their graduate studies, AFPE Fellows receive drug-focused training, in-depth introductions to industry processes, and experience in the use of teamwork and cross-functional collaboration to achieve industry research, development, evaluation and manufacturing goals.

AFPE is proud to support the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) in their strategic initiative, the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Grants (SOTL), for enhancing and improving educational outcomes. SOTL provides research funding for faculty members who are engaging in educational research

AFPE supports graduate education, training and research in the pharmaceutical sciences in such disciplines as clinical pharmaceutical science, medicinal/pharmaceutical chemistry, pharmacology/toxicology, pharmaceutics, pharmacoeconomics, pharmacognosy, pharmacokinetics/metabolism, pharmacotherapy & experimental therapeutics, and social & administrative pharmacy. The interest of AFPE corporate and individual contributors in supporting new or evolving scientific fields helps pharmacy educators create state-of-the-art curricula to keep pace with today’s rapid advances in drug discovery and development.

Click here for a list of our fellows, from 1942 to 2019


In 1942, visionary pharmaceutical leaders of the National Drug Trade Conference (NDTC) organized the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education (AFPE) and unanimously endorsed its incorporation as an independent foundation to operate in perpetuity to advance and support pharmaceutical education in the United States. AFPE stands as the nation’s oldest and largest pharmacy foundation.

For 75 years, AFPE has provided fellowships, scholarships, and grants to help educate thousands of the very best and brightest students in the pharmaceutical sciences in preparation for distinguished careers in industry and academia.

  • 1943-1946...Aid to Prevent Pharmacy College Closures during WWII
  • 1944-1978...Pharmacy Student Scholarships
  • 1946-2013...Graduate Student Fellowships in Pharmaceutical Science
  • 1985-2008...New Investigator Program for Pharmacy Faculty
  • 1992-2008...Pharmacy Student “Gateway to Research” Scholarships
  • 1992-2013...First Year Graduate School Scholarships
  • 2008-2013...Pharmacy Faculty Research Grants
  • 1944-1978...Pharmacy Student Recruitment
  • 1945-1991...American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education
  • 1946-1950...The Pharmaceutical Survey
  • 1949-1978...Pharmacy Teacher Seminars
  • 1966-1973...Visiting Lecturer Program
  • 1967-1969...Education Survey
  • 1968-1972...Inter-Institutional Pharmacology Program
  • 1972-1973...The Millis Study Commission on Pharmacy
  • 1979-1983...Council on Sections Special Projects Program
  • 1985-1987...Commission on Graduate Education
  • 1987...Executive Management in Colleges of Pharmacy (Seed Grant)
  • 1989-1990...AACP Database Project
  • 1944-2008...Grants to Support Pharmacy College Accreditation
  • 2012...Grant to support ACPE Invitational Conference




John M. Couric, Jr., MBA

Chief Financial Officer

Promontory Interfinancial Network, LLC



Michael Fauerbach, MBA

Head of Pharm Sci Strategy

and Operational Effectiveness, Pfizer Inc




Karl Williams, LLM, JD



Ellen Woods


Board of Directors

David D. Allen, Ph.D., FASHP, FNAP< FAPhA, (AACP)
Dean of Pharmacy
University of Mississippi

J. Lyle Bootman, Ph.D

Eileen M. Cannon
President PhRMA Foundation

Varsha Chavan, PhD                                                                 Technology Category Lead, Bayer

 Joseph T. DiPiro, PhD                                                                                         Dean, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy

 Rob DiCenzo (APhA), Pharm D
Shenandoah  University
School of Pharmacy

Janet P. Engle, Pharm.D. (ACPE) Executive Director                                                                                                                Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education

David R. Gaugh, RPh
Senior Vice President, Sciences & Regulatory Affairs
Association for Accessible Medicines

Carol A. Gloff, PhD
Carol Gloff & Associates

Kathleen D. Jaeger, RPh, JD
President, NACDS Foundation
SVP, Pharmacy Care & Patient Advocacy

Christene Jolowsky (ASHP)
Pharmacy Director
Hennepin Healthcare

Barbara A. Kochanowski, PhD
Vice President, Regulatory & Scientific Affairs
Consumer Healthcare Products Association

Scott Kuzner, Ph.D. (USP)
USP Convention and Global Stakeholder Engagement
Anne Lin, Pharm.D. (AACP)
Dean and Professor
Notre Dame of Maryland University
School of Pharmacy

Lucinda L. Maine, PhD
Executive Vice President & CEO
American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

Todd Sorensen, PhD
Professor and Associate Graduate Head
University of Minnesota

Peter Swaan, PhD
Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, University of Maryland, College of Pharmacy

Honor Society Partnerships

AFPE partners with the Kappa Epsilon, Phi Lambda Sigma, and Rho Chi pharmacy honor societies to provide fellowships to first-year graduate students.

Kappa Epsilon

The mission of Kappa Epsilon is to empower its members to achieve personal and professional fulfillment by developing their confidence, self-esteem, interpersonal skills and leadership vision; and represent the interest of the members to health-care professionals and the community at large.

Phi Lambda Sigma

The purpose of Phi Lambda Sigma, also known as the national Pharmacy Leadership Society, is to promote the development of leadership qualities, especially among pharmacy students. By peer recognition, the Society encourages participation in all pharmacy activities. Such recognition instills and enhances self-confidence, encourages the less active student to a more active role and promotes greater effort toward the advancement of pharmacy. Since membership crosses fraternal and organizational lines, the Society does not compete with other pharmacy organizations.

Rho Chi

The Rho Chi Society encourages and recognizes excellence in intellectual achievement and advocates critical inquiry in all aspects of pharmacy. The Society further encourages high standards of conduct and character and fosters fellowship among its members. The Society seeks universal recognition of its members as lifelong intellectual leaders in pharmacy, and as a community of scholars, to instill the desire to pursue intellectual excellence and critical inquiry to advance the profession.